Four mathematicians have been awarded the prestigious Fields Medals.

Fields medal is the highest honor for a mathematician.

The best accomplished mathematicians under the age of 40 are awarded Fields Medals once every four years.

Every four years, during the International Congress of Mathematicians, the medal is given out.

The Fields medal reward consists of a 14-karat gold medal with an image of Archimedes and money.

The Fields Medals were first awarded in 1936 in Oslo, Norway.

John Charles Fields, a Canadian mathematician, was the creator of the Fields Medals.

Hugo Duminil-Copin, from France, June Huh, from the US, James Maynard, from the UK, and Maryna Viazovska, from Ukraine are the four recipients of the renowned award.

The prize has gone to a woman for the second time in its history.